Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) 2017-02-07T01:35:20+00:00

Go to the Settings app on your device (not within Santa’s Bag app). On the first screen, scroll down to Santa’s Bag and tap on its row. Turn the Reset Passcode switch to ON. Close the device Settings. Open Santa’s Bag, and the passcode should be removed. You can go to Santa’s Bag’s Settings if you would like to reset it.

Archiving Gifts does not store them on any sort of central server. Your data is stored on your device alone, and, if you should choose to back it up on Dropbox, it would be stored there as well. Archiving a gift simply removes that gift from all active recipients, lists and counts. Archived Gifts can be viewed via the Menu/View Archived Gifts.

We currently do not offer sync between devices, though it is in the works for a future release.

It is possible to do a one-time copy of data from one device to another device (see below) by using our Pro version Backup/Restore feature; however, this feature was created as a way to store and restore backups, and not as a sync service, and thus should not be used regularly to transfer data between devices.

It is possible to do a one-time copy of data from one device to another device by using our Dropbox Backup/Restore feature, available with the Pro Version of Santa’s Bag. If you are trying to do a one-time copy of data from device A to device B, first make sure that you do not need any app data that is on device B. Next, backup your data on Device A to Dropbox. Once you have received confirmation that the backup is complete, restore your data on device B from Dropbox.

Please note that this is not sync, nor should it be used as such. If data is frequently backed up and restored between various devices, there is much room for error and the chance that a later backup will be overwritten by an earlier backup, causing data to be lost.

Unfortunately, there is no option to delete all of last year’s data (unless you delete each Gift one by one). However, the Pro Version of the app offers the ability to Archive all Active Gifts, which will remove them from your list of active gifts and add them to the Archived Gifts list. You can specify the year, and thus keep a record of gifts from years past.

To archive all active Gifts, go to the app menu, and select Archive All Gifts. If you have not purchased the Pro Version of the app, you will be brought to the Upgrade to Pro page, which is an in-app purchase that will enable this feature, as well as Dropbox Backup/Restore and removing iAds. On the Archive All Gifts page, you will be given the opportunity to specify a year to which your gifts will be archived.

Please note that archiving Gifts does not store them on any sort of central server. Your data is stored on your device alone, and, if you should choose to back it up on Dropbox, it would be stored there as well. Archiving a gift simply removes that gift from all active recipients, lists and counts. Archived Gifts can be viewed via the Menu/View Archived Gifts.

Go to the Upgrade to Pro page and tap the Restore button in the upper right hand corner of the screen.

If you previously purchased the Upgrade to Pro, the App Store should recognize your purchase and should restore the purchase to you without you having to pay again, as long as you use the same Apple ID under which you previously purchased the Upgrade.

Your data is stored on your device alone, and, if you chose to back it up on Dropbox, it should be stored there as well.

Often, when someone gets a new device, they restore their new device from an iTunes of iCloud backup.

If you did this and your data did not transfer over, it is possible that you might have disabled Santa’s Bag from being backed up. In any case, if you still have your old device, you can use the Pro version Backup/Restore feature to backup the data from your old device to Dropbox and restore the data from that backup to your new device.

Earlier this year, as an effort to enhance their user’s security, Facebook changed their API and the friends list will now only show friends who also have the app installed. In our next app update, the Facebook Friend Import option will be removed because this change renders it no longer useful to most users.